Church is Not the State

I was converted to Christianity about 35 years ago. One thing I knew, even as an agnostic, the church was/is in a mess. Based on my experience many, if not most, professing Christians do not understand the biblical purpose, nature, ministry, and mission of the church, but they profess to “go to it.”  Then election time comes and really throws a wrinkle in their understanding of the church. The state becomes the church and church becomes the state, especially among the self-professing evangelicals.  The church is “God’s people.” Israel was “God’s People.” Even before Israel, Adam and Eve were “God’s people.”  The church does not own one acre of land, no buildings, and no assets. God refers to the church as “My people.” The church on earth is a steward of God’s material provisions. The state does not belong to the church. I’m trying to make this as short and sweet as possible, but some of you will still find it unpalatable.  I’ll give one example of how evangelicals confuse political theory with church doctrine.

2 Chronicles 7:14 is quoted often and with great passion: “ if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”

Ripped out of the context of Solomon’s completion of building the temple in Jerusalem, his dedication of it, and the worship associated with  it, professing Christians apply this verse to the United States (although they are very un-united at this kairotic juncture in history). This verse comes out of God’s appearance to Solomon. God said, “My people (the church) who are called by My name.” Then in vs. 15 God said, “I have chosen and sanctified this house, that my name may be there forever.” Then in vs.  18 God said, “I will establish the throne of your kingdom.” NONE OF THIS REFERS TO THE UNITED STATES AS A NATION. “My people” the church should humble themselves and pray…the church ought to pray for the state…Forgiveness is another doctrine very often ignored by professing Christians…And he will never grant healing to the United States, but God will heal His church because of the Lord Jesus Christ, by the power of the Holy Spirit.

3 thoughts on “Church is Not the State

  1. Good point, Martin. I’ve always thought that particular verse referred to God’s people, no matter where they are. But I can see how some of us do put it in the context of ‘now’. Wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

